Michael David Winery – 2009 Seven Deadly Zins

I had mixed expectations with this old vine zinfandel.  A low price and high score from Robert Parker pulled me in to giving this red a try.  I opened the bottle to aromas of pepper, plum, dark berries and a little dark cherry.  My nose did get the slightest bite from the alcohol, which is a little on the high side at 15%.  The alcohol was noticeable at first sip, but resolved quickly.  The mouth feel was generally soft, full-bodied, but the fruits were evident.  I will admit that I think my palate is a little sensitive to sugars, but the taste was sweet to me, which perplexed me, particularly in light of the higher alcohol.  For what it’s worth, my husband loved the wine.  We had it with a seared petit filet, and it held up very nicely.

Leave a Reply

