Starborough – 2012 Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

Starborough

What would a hot, steamy summer day be without a cold, refreshing Sauvignon Blanc?  Aaahhh….I can almost taste it as I write….

A friend just introduced me to this fabulous wine – and my friend knows wine.  She also knows that I really have grown to enjoy a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, and thought I’d find this one to be really interesting and really enjoyable.  Needless to say, it delivered on all counts.

The aromas on this wine started with some of the expected citrus notes – lemon and grapefruit were the first to waft up.  But then my nose was tantalized by a really lovely green aroma – sort of pine, sort of boxwood, and other green herb.  It was magical and delicious that demanded a taste.  The flavors were bright and exciting.  The acidity was so nicely balanced with the citrus and herb flavors, and hints of passionfruit and other tropicals did not go unnoticed.  I am very sure I found a new summer favorite with this wine.  It paired so well with summer crudites of fresh vegetables, hummus, and kale salad.  This wine is also something I would consider a best buy – a very reasonably priced wine that tastes like a splurge.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Starborough – 2012 Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc

  1. You have such a way with words, Connie. This wine sounds amazing…with citrus and other tropicals. Have you started your label book yet? I just came upon Carl’s recently. I’ve been “enjoying” the basement lately for its coolness. Being down there propels me into taped mysterious boxes and wondering when we acquired all these things. 🙂

    I think of you two and know you are “doing”…and because it’s summer, I hope you are just “being”, as well. Put your feet up.

    Love, Suzie

    • Hi Suzie! Thank you so much for your kind comment! We can’t wait to share a bottle of Starborough with you! I would just love to see Carl’s label book! Let’s get together soon!

Leave a Reply

